About Us

Museum Mission

The Waynesboro Heritage Foundation and its institutions, which include the Waynesboro Heritage Museum and the Historic Plumb House, wish to provide the community a viable place where the city’s history can be preserved and celebrated for generations to come.

This can be accomplished through exhibitions, educational programs and active relationships with local citizens, and historical organizations.

History of the Museum

The Waynesboro Heritage Foundation, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit entity and was founded in 1997. Our two museums, the Waynesboro Heritage Museum and Plumb House Museum, promote Waynesboro’s history and are run by a Board of Directors. The Directors serve a three year term or hold the position for two terms (6 yrs.). Officers are President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary. Meetings are held monthly and a Membership Meeting is held each June.

The Heritage Museum

The Waynesboro Heritage Museum is located at 420 West Main Street. The hours are 10 – 5 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday. It is located in a 1908 newly renovated bank building at the corner of Wayne Avenue and Main Street downtown. Through a gift of resident, Mrs. Paul (Virginia) Ross, this building was renovated by the South River Development, Inc. in 2005 – 2007 for the Waynesboro Heritage Foundation.

Plumb House Museum

The Plumb House Museum features a permanent gallery that highlights various aspects of the history of Waynesboro, as well as a rotating exhibit room showcasing two temporary rotating exhibits and the permanent “Out of the Archives” exhibit. The museum has a gift shop where you can purchase books, postcards, mugs, ornaments, and others.